In their highly anticipated Feels Good EP, Kore Ionz continue to bring the soul and spirit of roots reggae into their brand of pop that resonates with Bob Marley & The Wailers as much as Michael Franti & Spearhead. “Feels Good” is a song that could turn rain into sunshine and stars the powerful and iconic voice of Hawaii-born singer/songwriter Daniel Pak, which the Seattle Weekly describes as sounding “like it was birthed right in the heart of New Orleans, with enough jazz heart to lead a Jamaican revolution of peace and love.”

Alongside the eponymous first single, the EP includes 4 other tracks, including a remix of “Love You Better,” the lead single from the band’s 2011 release, World War Free. “Love You Better” hit #1 on Native FM in Hilo and Kona and received heavy rotation throughout Hawaii. The song debuted worldwide live in-studio on Seattle’s KEXP 90.3 FM, falling right below Death Cab For Cutie on the influential station’s Top Live Performances chart.

A music video for “Feels Good” was shot on Oahu and will be released in early April 2014. Director Jeff Santos also produced a music video for “First Avenue,” which featured a guest appearance by Prometheus Brown of renowned Seattle hip hop duo Blue Scholars. The videos allow fans to experience another dimension to the band, whose reputation for remarkable live performances includes sharing the stage with legends such as The Wailers, Steel Pulse, Toots & The Maytals, and Third World, and packing iconic Seattle venues like Showbox at the Market, The Crocodile, and The Triple Door.

Major reggae artists, from Sly & Robbie to Shaggy, have all shared enthusiasm for Kore Ionz as they pass through the Pacific Northwest. With a multi-cultural cast of musicians that have played and collaborated with artists ranging from Digible Planets to Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Kore Ionz brings a positive energy that feels familiar, but takes reggae, rock, and pop to astonishingly new places.


“Kore Ionz has a higher calling that involves changing lives.”
- Marian Liu, The Seattle Times

Kore Ionz should not be missed. If not for the reggae, for a lesson in love.”
Shantel Grace, Honolulu Weekly


Daniel Pak lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Ahkeenu Musa percussion
Teo Shantz drums
Greg Fields keyboards
Thaddeus Turner lead guitar
Owuor Arunga trumpet
Darian Asplund tenor saxophone, flute

Leave a Reply